Let me start with a story, because i heard that from story you can understand/learn easily (that what i have been told) 😉

My father always dreamed about seeing me as a “Software Engineer”. I would rather be specific here, actually he wants me to crack IIT 🙂 Sounds familiar? I guess at that time almost everyone’s father wanted their children to be either Doctor or IIT Engineer (Although now situation changes now father wants their kid to be a Government Employee :). So finally I also started dreaming to be Engineer (A Software Engineer)…While completing my 12th in Delhi I have joined coaching institute for preparing for IIT,AIEEE and DCE exams….After few days I realized IIT is not my cup of tea so I focused on AIEEE exams rather.. Somehow I managed to score something which I don’t want to flash here 🙂 … However I got call letter from one of the engineering college of Dehradun, India for counseling… Started thinking myself as engineer, in my dreams afcourse. Attended counseling finally, keeping my dream alive in a beautiful place around college in Dehradun. After waiting long hours finally my turn came up…I was in the queue and 3 people were ahead of me…Then I heard from college staff that Software Engineering/Computer Science stream filled with those ahead 3 people. When my turn came they said they filled all the stream, only “Industrial Production” stream is left which I have never heard before… That’s not the stream which I have dreamed for. I had to step back. My heart broke, which is bit obvious. I came back to Delhi with broken heart leaving behind beautiful valley and beautiful college where I became engineer in few days in my dreams. I was totally blanked for few days.. What to do next, what not to do next, what do I tell my father many questions like these haunting my head. But i had to get out from this massive situation…I guess many of us felt like this before.. After few days someone suggested me about NIIT..I also saw newspaper ad about NIIT offering diploma course in Software Engineering and as well as Bachelor Program in Information Technology. So I went ahead with NIIT for fulfilling my dream.. Never thought that NIIT will change my life so much…I have started enjoying my course…During last days of my BSc (IT), I got opportunity from NIIT to teach their new students in a different centre of NIIT.. Well did I say I got my first job as Teacher? Yes finally started my career, well there is one similarity with my father here… He also started his career as a Teacher, although he has opted a lawyer profession and leaving happily after with no regrets. After serving as trainer at NIIT for 2 year I have got good knowledge/understanding on Technical stuff.. I also started liking to talk people, students and guiding them on their career. As I have good understanding on technical language like .Net/Java/SQL and other stuffs, I thought I can start my career ahead in Human Resource,utilize my earned skills and can do well.. I got opportunity to work as Recruiter in a staffing company named “APN Software” and started liking my job so much and decided to move ahead in this industry. After working around 2 year with this company I got opportunity to work with Sapient in a sourcing profile…I got chance to work with so many talented people under the one roof in India and outside India at Sapient. They have always been a source of motivation. In the past 4 years, I have not just learned a lot about sourcing/hiring, but also learned about professionalism, confidence and building relationships. Big Thanks to Sapient for giving me opportunity to work with great minds around me globally.

Moral of the Story :

Now these days we have so many tools which impacted drastically in our sourcing life. In my opinion sourcing is all about the basics. Building a relationship/trust with the candidate is basic thing which I am talking about and we need to stick with that. Remember one thing, you are as good as your reputation. You will be successful when you will be an effective and trustworthy HR professionals, so be it!

So you people must be thinking why I have shared my story with you…Only thing I wanted to emphasize here is about “Flexibility”. You have to be flexible, things may come up that are not part of your plan, so you will have to adjust or adapt with the situation. It may be skill you can add to your plate and can be used later. So realize you have a new passion very time. Just love what you do and have fun!! Now I hope you people can relate my story to it…

That’s my story, what about yours?? Please share your valuable comments!!

Nitesh

(A Proud Sourcer in This Beautiful Planet called Earth 🙂 )

